The Beginning Of My Photographic Journey

My first DSLR was years ago when my fourteen year old was four. I had purchased a Canon Rebel and I loved it. Took pictures all the time but unfortunately, my Canon broke and for some reason (probably financial) I chose not to replace it.  Flash forward to 2012 and I can’t quite pin point the exact instance where I realized that hey, this is something I really do enjoy. Something lit a fire in me and I decided it was time to replace the Canon of long ago.  I went ahead and did my research (you want to do this before you buy a camera).  I compared various cameras and narrowed it down to a Sony A65, A Canon T3, or the Nikon D5100.  I found a couple of sites that were pretty helpful the links are below:

1.  http://www.dpreview.com/products/compare/cameras
This site allows you to choose up to 20 cameras with a side-by-side view to compare features.

2. http://snapsort.com/compare
Allows you to compare 2 cameras side-by-side if you like viewing less information at one time.

In the end, I went with the Nikon D5100. It had higher reviews than the competitors. Also, I have to say my previous experience with Canon narrowed it down a bit more for me.  Sorry Canon owners..

I am really pleased so far with my Nikon. I only wish it had image stabilization built into the camera. Any slight movement, and you have a blurry picture. I guess that will force me to become a better shooter, so I am o.k. with that.  Thankfully, there is some image stabilization built into the lenses.  I have two so far and yes, I want more!!  So far, I’m working with the 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 and a 55-200mm f/4-5.6.  I really like my telephoto lens for most shots but I would love one with a wider Aperture..that will be my next purchase (hopefully soon).

Which ever camera you choose, just make sure you go out an shoot. Experiment as much as you can and try different things. Don’t be afraid of the manual settings because most of the time, I’ve found I enjoy them more than the pre-programmed ones.

I’ll leave you with some recent photos I’ve taken with my Nikon D5100.   I’ll post more in future blogs.

God Bless!

Image

Turquoise Sunset
Nikon D5100 55-200mm f/4-5.6

Image

Blue Bike
Nikon D5100 55-200mm f/4-5.6

Image

Bank Building

Nikon D5100 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 Lens
Image

Dusk
Nikon D5100 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6

Image
The Art Above
Nikon D5100 55-200mm f/4-5.6

**All images are copyrighted and are the sole property of Maibel Ziello. Please do not copy or otherwise use any images from this site without prior permission from the owner.

 

3 thoughts on “The Beginning Of My Photographic Journey

Leave a Reply

